Animal Science (MS)

Master of Science Degree Requirements

Code	Title H	lours
Required Courses		4
ANS 601	Animal Science Seminar	
ANS 685	Master's Supervised Teaching	
ANS 695	Master's Thesis Research	
or ANS 693	Master's Supervised Research	
ANS 811	Safety and Ethics in Animal Science	
Graduate Elective Courses		18
Select any 500 - 700 level courses determined in conjunction with the advisory committee.		

Elective Courses ¹

Select any "Elective Courses" determined in conjunction with the advisory committee.

Total Hours 30

Additional Requirements & Restrictions

- A minimum of one (1) full academic year or its equivalent in residence as a graduate student at the university
- A minimum of 30 semester hours of graduate work in the degree program, unless the specific program requires more hours, including a minimum of 18 hours of 500-700 level coursework
- No more than six (6) hours of 400-level courses can be counted toward the minimum 30-hour requirement, and they may not come from the major field
- No more than three (3) credit hours of Masters Supervised Teaching (ANS 685) can be included in the minimum 30-credit program
- No more than six hours of Thesis Research (ANS 693 Master's Supervised Research/ANS 695 Master's Thesis Research) in the minimum 30-hour program
- No more than two (2) credit hours of seminar (S/U graded) may be included in the minimum 30-credit hour program
- Masters Thesis Preparation (ANS 699) credits may not be used to satisfy the 30-credit hour requirement
- A thesis
- · A departmental defense seminar
- A comprehensive oral examination

Accelerated Bachelor's/Master's Degree Requirements

The Accelerated Bachelors/Master's (ABM) degree program allows exceptional undergraduate students at NC State an opportunity to complete the requirements for both the Bachelor's and Master's degrees at an accelerated pace. These undergraduate students may double count up to 12 credits and obtain a non-thesis Master's degree in the same field

within 12 months of completing the Bachelor's degree, or obtain a thesisbased Master's degree in the same field within 18 months of completing the Bachelor's degree.

This degree program also provides an opportunity for the Directors of Graduate Programs (DGPs) at NC State to recruit rising juniors in their major to their graduate programs. However, permission to pursue an ABM degree program does not guarantee admission to the Graduate School. Admission is contingent on meeting eligibility requirements at the time of entering the graduate program.

Faculty

Glen William Almond

Eduardo Beltranena

Marissa Cohen

Joan Eisemann

Charlotte E. Farin

Vivek Fellner

William Lucas Flowers IV

Fikret Isik

Sung Woo Kim

Duane K. Larick

Hsiao-Ching Liu
Christian Maltecca

Melissa Schuster Merrill

Jeannette A. Moore

Jack Odle

Shannon Elizabeth Phillips

Christina Phillips

Jorge A. Piedrahita

Matt H. Poore

Miles T. See

Yanbin Shen

Paul David Siciliano

Felipe Alves Correa Carvalho da Silva

Eric VanHeugten

Elizabeth B. Wilson

Dana J. Hanson

Mark T. Knauer

Daniel Heath Poole

Students may choose 8 credits in combination of: ANS 693 Master's Supervised Research/ANS 695 Master's Thesis Research, Seminar, ANS 685 Master's Supervised Teaching, and other elective graded courses.

Korinn Edna Saker Giuseppe Valacchi Debora A. Esposito Jonathan Paul Holt Jicai Jiang Michael Vadakekara Joseph Suzanne McKay Leonard Casey C. Nestor Carrie L. Pickworth Xiaoqiu Wang Stephanie Hill Ward Kimberly Dawn Ange-Van Heugten Deidre Danielle Harmon James B. Holland Francesco Tiezzi Mazzoni Della Stella Ma Shweta Trivedi Lin Xi Brenda P. Alston-Mills Geoffrey A. Benson Leonard S. Bull Roger G. Crickenberger Kenneth L. Esbenshade Warren H. Croom, Jr. Eugene Eisen Winston Murry Hagler Raymond W. Harvey Brinton Alden Hopkins Gerald B. Huntington James R. Jones Jean-Marie Luginbuhl Roger Lee McCraw William M. Morrow Richard M. Myers Robert M. Petters

Odis Wayne Robison Frank D. Sargent Jerry Wayne Spears
Steven Paul Washburn
Michael David Whitacre
Lon Weidner Whitlow
Charles Michael Williams
Todd Aaron Armstrong
Raymond Dean Boyd
Max T. Coffey
Kent A Gray
Jeffrey Alan Hansen
Justin W. Holl
Elizabeth A. Koutsos
Douglas Wyatt Newcom
Theo A. van Kempen
Rasha Qudsieh