# Aerospace Engineering

Graduate students in the Aerospace Engineering program focus on aircraft and space systems design, analysis, and manufacturing. Students can select course offerings and research programs in aerodynamics and applied aerodynamics; aerospace propulsion; computational fluid dynamics; dynamics and design of spacecraft and space systems; flight dynamics and control; and multifunctional materials and smart structures. Sub-areas include acoustics, sprays, composite materials, reactive and multiphase flows, stability, and transition to turbulence.

## **Master's Degree Requirements**

The thesis-option M.S. degree program in aerospace engineering requires 21 hours of course credit and nine hours of thesis research. The non-thesis M.S. degree requires 27 hours of course credit and a three credit-hour project and is offered on campus as well as off campus, through distance education.

## Ph.D. Degree Requirements

A minimum of 72 hours of credit are required to obtain the Ph.D. degree. A direct path to the Ph.D. from the B.S. is also available with which the student is granted the M.S. degree "enroute" to the Ph.D. The enroute Ph.D. (direct to Ph.D. path) requires a minimum of 3.5 undergraduate GPA.

# Student Financial Support

Financial support is typically offered to admitted Ph.D. students, according to funding availability. Funding decisions are communicated separately from admissions decisions.

#### More Information

Aerospace Engineering Program Website (https://mae.ncsu.edu/mae-graduate-programs/)

# **Admission Requirements**

An applicant to the master's program must be a graduate of an accredited undergraduate program with a B.S. degree in either mechanical or aerospace engineering. Graduates of other accredited programs in engineering, physical sciences and mathematics may be considered but may be required to make up undergraduate deficiencies without graduate credit. Provisional admissions, as well as exceptions, are sometimes granted under special circumstances. The most qualified applicants are accepted first. Applicants to the Ph.D. program must have met the M.S. admission requirements and additionally must satisfy the Ph.D. admissions requirements. Applicants to the online, distance education M.S. program in mechanical or aerospace engineering are not required to take the GRE exam.

# **Applicant Information**

# **Aerospace Engineering (PhD)**

Delivery Method: On Campus
Entrance Exam: None
Interview Required: None

#### **Aerospace Engineering (MS)**

• Delivery Method: On Campus, Online, Hybrid

Entrance Exam: NoneInterview Required: None

## **Application Deadlines**

- Fall: December 15 (PhD), March 1 (International Masters), June 1 (US Citizen Masters), June 30 (Distance Education Masters)
- Spring: July 15 International Masters), November 1 (US Citizen Masters), November 15 (Distance Education Masters)
- Summer: April 1 (Distance Education Masters)

More Information on Application deadlines can be found on the MAE Graduate Admissions page (https://mae.ncsu.edu/mae-graduate-admissions/).

## Degrees

- Aerospace Engineering (MS) (http://catalog.ncsu.edu/graduate/ engineering/aerospace-engineering/aerospace-engineering-ms/)
- Aerospace Engineering (PhD) (http://catalog.ncsu.edu/graduate/ engineering/aerospace-engineering/aerospace-engineering-phd/)
- Aerospace Engineering (Minor) (http://catalog.ncsu.edu/graduate/ engineering/aerospace-engineering/aerospace-engineering-minor/)

# **Faculty**

#### **Full Professors**

Gregory D. Buckner

Tarek Echekki

Farhan Saifuddin Gandhi

Tasnim Hassan

He Huang

Jack Ray Edwards Jr.

Srinath Varadarajan Ekkad

Tiegang Fang

Ashok Gopalarathnam

Richard David Gould

Xiaoning Jiang

Richard F. Keltie

Clement Kleinstreuer

Andrey Valerevich Kuznetsov

James Woodrow Leach

Hong Luo

Kevin M. Lyons

Gracious Ngaile

Kara Jo Peters

Afsaneh Rabiei

Lawrence M. Silverberg

Juei Feng Tu

Fen Wu

Fuh-Gwo Yuan

Yong Zhu

Mohammed A. Zikry

# **Associate Professors**

Michael A. Boles

Matthew Bryant

Jeffrey W. Eischen

Scott M. Ferguson

Su Hao

Charles Edward Hall Jr.

Hsiao-Ying Shadow Huang

Andre P. Mazzoleni

Marie Muller

Venkateswaran Narayanaswamy

Brendan Timothy O'Connor

Mark R. Pankow

Katherine Saul

Alexei V. Saveliev

Nitin Sharma

Rohan A. Shirwalker

Hooman Vahedi Tafreshi

Christopher Raymond Vermillion

Chengying Xu

#### **Assistant Professors**

James Braun

Darius Carter

Mingtai Chen

Chuyi Chen

Curtis Congreve

Landon Grace

Kenneth Granlund

Veeraraghava Raju Hasti

Mohammad Heiranian

Timothy Joseph Horn

Jingjie Hu

Arun Kumar Kota

Andrew Jeungahn Lee

Donggun Lee

Jun Liu

Seyed Mehran Mirramezani

Jason F. Patrick

Pramod Kumar Veera Subbareddy

Henry Oliver Tenadooah Ware

Chi-An Yi

Jie Yin

# **Emeritus Faculty**

Thomas A. Dow

Herbert Martin Eckerlin

Hassan A. Hassan

David S. McRae

Robert T. Nagel

John S. Strenkowski