Biomedical Engineering (MS): MedTech Innovation and Entrepreneurship Concentration

Degree Requirements

Code	Title	Hours
Core Courses		24
BME 501	MedTech Innovation and Entrepreneurship I - Needs Discovery	
BME 502	MedTech Innovation and Entrepreneurship II - Design and Regulation	
BME 503	MedTech Innovation and Entrepreneurship III - Product Development	
BME 504	Medical Device Materials and Manufacturing	
BEC 575	Global Regulatory Affairs for Medical Products	
MBA 576	Technology Entrepreneurship and Commercialization I	
or MBA 848A & MBA 848B at UNC-CH *		
MBA 577	Technology Entrepreneurship and Commercialization II	
or MBA 848C & MBA 848D at UNC-CH *		

Students can choose between BME 650, which requires completion of an internships with a medical technology company/consultancy, or 3 credit hours of MBA electives from the Poole College of Management at NC State or from the Kenan-Flagler Business School at UNC-Chapel Hill.

Technical Elective Course

Internship/Entrepreneurship Elective

Select a minimum of three credit hours of 500-level or 700-level technical coursework from the following course prefixes: BME, CHE, CE, ECE, ISE, MSE, MAE, or NE as approved in conjunction with the program advisor

Total Hours 30

- * Required MBA courses must be completed at either NC State or UNC-CH. Student must complete either MBA 576 and MBA 577 or MBA 848A, MBA 848B, MBA 848C and MBA 848D.
- ** Other graduate courses in applied or technical fields at NC State or UNC-Chapel Hill as approved in conjunction with the program advisor.

Faculty

Department Chair

Paul Dayton

Associate Chairs

Lianne Cartee, Associate Chair for Education

Shawn Gomez, Associate Chair for Research

Directors

Lianne Cartee, Director of Undergraduate Studies

Matthew Fisher, Director of Graduate Studies

Associate Director

Naji Husseini, Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

Distinguished Professors

Lianne Cartee, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor

Paul Dayton, William R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor

He (Helen) Huang, Jackson Family Distinguished Professor

H. Troy Nagle

Roger Narayan

Koji Sode, William R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor

Professors

Lianne Cartee

3

Paul A. Dayton

Caterina M. Gallippi

Shawn Gomez

Leaf Huang

H. Troy Nagle Jr.

Weili Lin

J. Michael Ramsey

George (Rick) Stouffer

Associate Professors

Ashley Brown

Yevgeny Brudno

Jacqueline Cole

Michael Daniele

Bob Dennis

Kenneth Donnelly

Oleg Favorov

Matthew Fisher

Jason Franz

Donald Freytes

Michael Gamcsik

David Hill

Devin Hubbard

Naji Husseini

Derek Kamper

David Lalush

Jeffrey Macdonald

Scott Magness

Matthew Penny

Gianmarco Pinton

Nitin Sharma

Mark Tommerdahl

Anka Veleva

Bruce Wiggin

David Zaharoff

Wesley Legant

Ming Liu

Virginie Papadopoulou

Ross Petrella

William Polacheck

Imran Rizvi

Francisco Santibanez

Sarah Shelton

James Tsuruta

Lecturers

Sidhartha Jandhyala

Nick Jardine

Assistant Professors

Amy Adkins

Pritha Agarwalla

Wen Yih Aw

Rahima Benhabbour

Joseph Burclaff

Melissa Caughey

Silvia Ceballos

Brian Diekman

Alon Greenbaum

Michael Jay

Kennita Johnson

Jinwook Kim