Computer Networking

The Master of Science in computer networking may be earned through the M.S. with thesis option or through the non-thesis option. Either option may be used as preparation for further graduate study or employment in industrial research, development or design environment, although students planning to continue on for a Ph.D. should discuss the option selected with their advisors.

The Master of Science in Computer Networking is also available as on online degree program. This degree has a non-thesis option, does not require on campus attendance, and may be used in preparation for further graduate student or employment in an industrial research, development or design environment. The program is available to USA residents and to United States military personnel serving overseas and it is offered online through Engineering Online.

Master's Degree Requirements

Computer networking core courses constitute 9 of the 30 minimum credit hours. Students take 12 additional credit hours of computer networking courses from one of four currently defined technical concentration areas: network design, network hardware, network software, or networking services. The remaining 9 credit hours may be taken from an approved management concentration sequence, as additional courses in the computer networking technical concentration areas, or as 6 hours of thesis and 3 credit hours from the list of approved computer networking courses. At least 6 of the 30 credits must come from the 700 level, and non-letter graded courses such as individual studies courses may account for a maximum of 3 credit hours.

More Information

Computer Networking Program Website (http://networking.ncsu.edu/)

Applicant Information

• Delivery Method: On-Campus, Online, Hybrid

Entrance Exam: NoneInterview Required: None

Degrees

- Computer Networking (MS) (http://catalog.ncsu.edu/graduate/ engineering/computer-networking/computer-networking-ms/)
- Computer Networking (MS): Internship Concentration (http://catalog.ncsu.edu/graduate/engineering/computer-networking/computer-networking-ms-internship-concentration/)

Faculty

Harald Ade

B. Jayant Baliga

Mesut E. Baran

Salah M. A. Bedair

Subhashish Bhattacharya

Alper Yusuf Bozkurt

Gregory T. Byrd

Stanley Cheung

Rada Yuryevna Chirkova

Mo-Yuen Chow

Mihail Cutitaru

Huaiyu Dai

William Rhett Davis

Alexandra Duel-Hallen

Michael James Escuti

Do Young Eun

Demitry Farfurnik

Brian Allan Floyd

Paul D. Franzon

John Gajda

John J. Grainger

Edward Grant

Ali Gurbuz

Sevgi Gurbuz

Robert Wendell Heath

Brian L Hughes

Iqbal Husain

Ki Wook Kim

Frederick Anthony Kish Jr.

Robert Michael Kolbas

Hamid Krim

Yuan Liu

Frederick J. Livingston

Ning Lu

Srdjan Miodrag Lukic

Leda Lunardi

Thomas Kenan Miller III

Veena Misra

Rainer Frank Mueller

John F. Muth

H. Troy Nagle Jr.

Arne Nilsson

Omer Oralkan Amay Jairaj Bandodkar

Mehmet Cevdet Ozturk Michael Daniele

Harilaos George Perros Yaoyao Jia

Anderson Rodrigo de Queiroz Shih-Chun Lin

Douglas Stephen Reeves Spyridon Pavlidis

James Lee Reynolds Bradley Galloway Reaves

Eric Rotenberg Muhammad Shahzad

Mihail Lorin Sichitiu Wenyuan Tang

Daniel D. Stancil Chau-Wai Wong

Michael B. Steer Tianfu Wu

J K Townsend Gregory Edward Bottomley

James Tuck Laura J. Bottomley

Daryoosh Vashaee James Paul Dieffenderfer

John Victor Veliadis Robert Joseph Evans

Ioannis Viniotis Rachana Ashok Gupta

Wenye Wang Douglas C. Hopkins

Jonathan Wierer Steven Wade Hunter

Chenhan Xu Steven D. Jackson

Huiyang Zhou Bongmook Lee

Jacob James Adams David Lee Lubkeman

Dror Zeev Baron Robert Dwight Oden Jr.

Michela Becchi Hatice Orun Ozturk

Aranya Chakrabortty Veety, Elena Nicolescu

Alexander G. Dean Tania Milkova Paskova

Qing Gu Andrew J. Rindos III

Ismail Guvenc Elena Nicolescu Veety

Khaled Abdel Hamid Harfoush Leonard Wilson White

Michael W. Kudenov Donna G. Yu

Edgar Lobaton Wensong Yu

Zeljko Pantic Winser E. Alexander

Nuria Gonzalez Prelcic George F. Bland

David Ricketts David H. Covington

Nitin Sharma Tildon H. Glisson Jr.

Cranos M. Williams John R. Hauser

Chengying Xu Michael A. Littlejohn

Aydin Aysu David Franklin McAllister

Carlton M. Osburn

Wilbur Carroll Peterson

Sarah Ann Rajala

Wesley E. Snyder