Computer Science (MS)

Master of Science Degree Requirements

Code	Title Ho	ours
Core Course	s	6
	inimum of one course per category under "Core isted below	
Required Courses		
CSC 600	Computer Science Graduate Orientation	
CSC 695	Master's Thesis Research	
Elective Courses		
CSC 500 (or 700-level courses	
Minor Courses, CSC Graduate Electives or Restricted Electives		
	urses, CSC Graduate Electives or Restricted Electives" proved in conjunction with the academic committee	
Total Hours		31

Core Courses

Code	Title	Hours	
Select minimum of two courses, one from each category			
Theory Category			
CSC 503	Computational Applied Logic	3	
CSC 505	Design and Analysis Of Algorithms	3	
CSC 512	Compiler Construction	3	
CSC 514	Foundations of Cryptography	3	
CSC 565	Graph Theory	3	
CSC 579	Introduction to Computer Performance Modeling	3	
CSC 580	Numerical Analysis I	3	
Systems Category			
CSC 501	Operating Systems Principles	3	
CSC 506	Architecture Of Parallel Computers	3	
CSC 510	Software Engineering	3	
CSC 520	Artificial Intelligence I	3	
or CSC 720	Artificial Intelligence II		
CSC 540	Database Management Concepts and Systems	3	
CSC 561	Principles of Computer Graphics	3	
CSC 570	Computer Networks	3	
or CSC 573	Internet Protocols		
CSC 574	Computer and Network Security	3	

Accelerated Bachelor's/Master's Degree Requirements

The Accelerated Bachelors/Master's (ABM) degree program allows exceptional undergraduate students at NC State an opportunity to complete the requirements for both the Bachelor's and Master's degrees at an accelerated pace. These undergraduate students may double count up to 12 credits and obtain a non-thesis Master's degree in the same field within 12 months of completing the Bachelor's degree, or obtain a thesisbased Master's degree in the same field within 18 months of completing the Bachelor's degree. This degree program also provides an opportunity for the Directors of Graduate Programs (DGPs) at NC State to recruit rising juniors in their major to their graduate programs. However, permission to pursue an ABM degree program does not guarantee admission to the Graduate School. Admission is contingent on meeting eligibility requirements at the time of entering the graduate program.

Faculty

Department Head

Gregory E. Rothermel, Professor

Distinguished Professors

Tiffany M. Barnes

Laurie A. Williams, Co-Director - NCSU Science of Security Lablet

Distinguished University Professor

James C. Lester II, Director of the Center for Educational Informatics

Michael A. Rappa, Director, Institute for Advanced Analytics

Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor

Georgios N. Rouskas, Director of Graduate Programs

Munindar P. Singh, Co- Director - NCSU Science of Security Lablet

Full Professor

Min Chi

Rada Y. Chirkova

Huaiyu Dai

Rudra Dutta, Associate Department Head

William H. Enck, Director of Wolfpack Security & Privacy Research (WSPR) Laboratory

Edward F. Gehringer

Xiaohui (Helen) Gu

Christopher G. Healey, Goodnight Distinguished Professor Analytics, Institute for Advanced Analytics

Steffen Heber

Timothy J. Menzies

R. Frank Mueller

Xipeng Shen

Matthias F. M. Stallmann

R. Raju Vatsavai

Associate Professors

Wesley K. G. Assunção

Dror Zeev Baron

Marcelo d'Amorim

Zhishan Guo

Khaled Harfoush

Arnav H. Jhala

Alexandros Kapravelos

Sandeep K. Kuttal

Xu Liu

Collin F. Lynch

Noboru Matsuda

Kemafor Anyanwu Ogan

Sharath Kumar Raghvendra

Bradley G. Reaves

David L. Roberts, Assistant Director of Undergraduate Programs

Alessandra Scafuro

Muhammad Shahzad

Donald R. Sheehy

Kathryn T. Stolee

Sharma Vallin Thankachan

Benjamin A. Watson

Wujie Wen

Assistant Professors

Samira Mirbagher Ajorpaz Veronica M. Cateté Anupam Das Shiyan Jiang Jung -Eun Kim Chin Ho Lee Jiajia Li Jianqing Liu Xiaorui Liu Yuchen Liu Yuan Liu John-Paul Ore Thomason W. Price Dongkuan (DK) Xu Dominik Wermke Bowen Xu Chenhan Xu Man Ki Yoon Ruozhou Yu

Teaching Professor

Sarah S. Heckman, Director of Undergraduate Programs

Teaching Associate Professors

Kimberly J. Titus Tzvetelina (Lina) Battestilli Jamie A Jennings Jason T. King Chandrika Satyavolu Jessica Y. Schmidt David B. Sturgill

Teaching Assistant Professors

Suzanne M. Balik Abida Haque Caio Batista de Melo Alexander Card Ignacio X. Dominguez Adam Gaweda Shuyin Jiao Sterling M. McLeod

Lecturers

B. Jasmine Adams, Director of Undergraduate Advising

Scott Gerard

Margaret Heil, Director of Senior Design Center

ToniAnn Marini, Assistant Director of Undergraduate Advising

Research Professor

Franc Brglez

Chris Martens Wookhee Min

Peng Ning

Christopher Parnin

Injong Rhee

Robert St. Amant

Xiaogang (Cliff) Wang

Tao Xie

Assistant Research Professor

Bita Akram

Director

Leslie Rand-Pickett, Graduate Career Services

Emeritus Faculty

Dennis R. Bahler

Wu-show Chou

Jon Doyle

Edward W. Davis, Jr.

Robert J. Fornaro

Thomas L. Honeycutt

David F. McAllister

Harry Perros

Douglas S. Reeves

Woodrow Robbins

Carla D. Savage

William J. Stewart

Alan L. Tharp

David J. Thuente

Adjunct Faculty

Ram Chillarege

Aldo Dagnino

Steven Hunter