Computer Science (PhD)

Doctor of Philosophy in Computer Science (PhD)

| Code Core Courses | Title | Hours 12 |
|---|--|-------------|
| Select four co Courses" liste | urses - two from each category - within "Core d below | |
| Required Cours | es | 13 |
| CSC 600 | Computer Science Graduate Orientation | |
| CSC 890 | Doctoral Preliminary Exam | |
| CSC 700-level Courses (two or more) | | |
| Elective / Research Courses | | 47 |
| "Elective / Research Courses" are approved in conjunction with the academic committee | | 1 |
| Total Hours | | 72 |

Core Courses

| Code | Title | Hours | |
|------------------|---|-------|--|
| Select four cour | rses with two from each category | 12 | |
| Theory Category | | | |
| CSC 503 | Computational Applied Logic | 3 | |
| CSC 505 | Design and Analysis Of Algorithms | 3 | |
| CSC 512 | Compiler Construction | 3 | |
| CSC 514 | Foundations of Cryptography | 3 | |
| CSC 565 | Graph Theory | 3 | |
| CSC 579 | Introduction to Computer Performance Modeling | j 3 | |
| CSC 580 | Numerical Analysis I | 3 | |
| CSC 707 | Automata, Languages and Computability Theory | у З | |
| Systems Category | | | |
| CSC 501 | Operating Systems Principles | 3 | |
| CSC 506 | Architecture Of Parallel Computers | 3 | |
| CSC 510 | Software Engineering | 3 | |
| CSC 520 | Artificial Intelligence I | 3 | |
| or CSC 720 | Artificial Intelligence II | | |
| CSC 540 | Database Management Concepts and Systems | 3 | |
| CSC 561 | Principles of Computer Graphics | 3 | |
| CSC 570 | Computer Networks | 3 | |
| or CSC 573 | Internet Protocols | | |
| CSC 574 | Computer and Network Security | 3 | |

Faculty

Department Head

Gregory E. Rothermel, Professor

Distinguished Professors

Tiffany M. Barnes

Laurie A. Williams, Co-Director - NCSU Science of Security Lablet

Distinguished University Professor

James C. Lester II, Director of the Center for Educational Informatics

Michael A. Rappa, Director, Institute for Advanced Analytics

Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor

Georgios N. Rouskas, Director of Graduate Programs

Munindar P. Singh, Co- Director - NCSU Science of Security Lablet

Full Professor

Min Chi

Rada Y. Chirkova

Huaiyu Dai

Rudra Dutta, Associate Department Head

William H. Enck, Director of Wolfpack Security & Privacy Research (WSPR) Laboratory

Edward F. Gehringer

Xiaohui (Helen) Gu

Christopher G. Healey, Goodnight Distinguished Professor Analytics, Institute for Advanced Analytics

Steffen Heber

Timothy J. Menzies

R. Frank Mueller

Xipeng Shen

Matthias F. M. Stallmann

R. Raju Vatsavai

Associate Professors

Wesley K. G. Assunção Dror Zeev Baron Marcelo d'Amorim Zhishan Guo Khaled Harfoush Arnav H. Jhala Alexandros Kapravelos Sandeep K. Kuttal

Xu Liu

Collin F. Lynch

Noboru Matsuda

Kemafor Anyanwu Ogan

Sharath Kumar Raghvendra

Bradley G. Reaves

David L. Roberts, Assistant Director of Undergraduate Programs

Alessandra Scafuro

Muhammad Shahzad

Donald R. Sheehy

Kathryn T. Stolee

Sharma Vallin Thankachan

Benjamin A. Watson

Wujie Wen

Assistant Professors

Samira Mirbagher Ajorpaz

Veronica M. Cateté

Anupam Das

Shiyan Jiang

Jung -Eun Kim

Chin Ho Lee

Jiajia Li

Jianqing Liu

Xiaorui Liu

Yuchen Liu

Yuan Liu

John-Paul Ore

Thomason W. Price

Dongkuan (DK) Xu

Dominik Wermke

Bowen Xu

Chenhan Xu

Man Ki Yoon

Ruozhou Yu

Teaching Professor

Sarah S. Heckman, Director of Undergraduate Programs

Teaching Associate Professors

Kimberly J. Titus Tzvetelina (Lina) Battestilli Jamie A Jennings Jason T. King Chandrika Satyavolu Jessica Y. Schmidt David B. Sturgill

Teaching Assistant Professors

Suzanne M. Balik

Abida Haque

Caio Batista de Melo

Alexander Card

Ignacio X. Dominguez

Adam Gaweda

Shuyin Jiao

Sterling M. McLeod

Lecturers

B. Jasmine Adams, Director of Undergraduate Advising

Scott Gerard

Margaret Heil, Director of Senior Design Center

ToniAnn Marini, Assistant Director of Undergraduate Advising

Research Professor

Franc Brglez

Assistant Research Professor

Bita Akram

Director

Leslie Rand-Pickett, Graduate Career Services

Emeritus Faculty

Dennis R. Bahler

Wu-show Chou

Jon Doyle

Edward W. Davis, Jr.

Robert J. Fornaro

Thomas L. Honeycutt

David F. McAllister

Harry Perros

Douglas S. Reeves

Woodrow Robbins

Carla D. Savage

William J. Stewart

Alan L. Tharp

David J. Thuente

Adjunct Faculty

Ram Chillarege

Aldo Dagnino

Steven Hunter

Chris Martens

Wookhee Min

Peng Ning

Christopher Parnin

Injong Rhee

Robert St. Amant

Xiaogang (Cliff) Wang

Tao Xie