5G Technology (Certificate)

5G is the wireless data communications system that will replace the 4G LTE systems currently in use around the world. However, 5G is not an update on 4G. It is a radically new system, using many different architectures, algorithms, circuits, chips and antennas than the previous system. 5G will enable faster streaming to mobile devices with theoretical speeds of up to 10 Gb/s as well as enabling the next generation of the Internet of Things.

As industry is working at a breakneck pace to build out these systems, there is a high demand for engineers who are fluent in the technological challenges and opportunities of this generational leap to 5G.

With a certificate in 5G Technologies, you will be well-equipped to work at the forefront of pivotal technology powered by advanced and advancing communications technologies.

Plan of Study

The 5GT GCP requires a total of 12 credit hours consisting of four graduate-level Electrical and Computer Engineering courses taken for a letter grade. Courses labeled "EOL" will be offered both as live classes and through EOL. Those without "EOL" are only offered to on-campus students. To view a full list of Electrical and Computer Engineering certificate degrees and courses, please visit their department website (https://ece.ncsu.edu/grad/certificate/).

More Information

5G Technologies Program Website (https://www.ece.ncsu.edu/grad/ certificate/)

Distance Website (https://online-distance.ncsu.edu/program/5g-technology/)

Application Information

Students must meet ONE of the following requirements for admission into the 5G Graduate Certificate Program:

- Have a BS degree in Electrical or Computer Engineering from a regionally accredited four-year college or university, and have an overall GPA of at least 3.0 on a 4-point scale.
- Have a BS degree in the sciences or engineering from a regionally accredited four-year college or university with an overall GPA of at least 3.0 on a 4-point scale.
- Be a degree-seeking student in good standing in an NC State University graduate program in the sciences or engineering.

Applicant Information

- Delivery Mode: On Campus, Online, Hybrid
- Entrance Exam: None
- Interview Required: None

Application Deadlines

- Fall: January 9
- Spring: July 1

Plan Requirements

Students may choose from the course tracks below to complete coursework within a focus area.

Certificates earned will be distributed as: "Graduate Certificate in 5G Technologies" without focus area track specifications.

Code	Title Ho	ours
Required Cours	ses	12
ECE 592	Special Topics In Electrical Engineering (LTE and 5G Communications (EOL))	
Select a course s Area Tracks"	sequence under any track area listed under "Focus	
Total Hours		12

Focus Area Tracks

Circuits

Code	Title	Hours
Course Seque	nce	
ECE 511	Analog Electronics	
ECE 712	Integrated Circuit Design for Wireless Communications	
ECE 792	Special Topics In Electrical Engineering (Desig Millimeter-Wave Circuits and Systems (EOL))	n of

Microwave Systems and Applied EM

Code	Title	Hours
Course Sequence	e	
ECE 524	Radio System Design	
ECE 549	RF Design for Wireless	
ECE 592	Special Topics In Electrical Engineering (Antena and Arrays)	nas

Communications

Code	Title	Hours
Course Sequenc	e	
ECE 575	Introduction to Wireless Networking	
ECE 766	Signal Processing for Communications & Networking	
ECE 570	Computer Networks	

Faculty

Full Professors

Harald Ade David E Aspnes B. Jayant Baliga Mesut E. Baran Salah M. A. Bedair Subhashish Bhattacharya

Donald L. Bitzer

Alper Yusuf Bozkurt	Georgios Rouskas
Gregory T Byrd	Xipeng Shen
Rada Yuryevna Chirkova	Mihail Lorin Sichitiu
Mo-Yuen Chow	Zlatko Sitar
Huaiyu Dai	Matthias F. M. Stallmann
William Rhett Davis	Daniel D. Stancil
Alexandra Duel-Hallen	Michael B. Steer
Michael James Escuti	J. K. Townsend
Do Young Eun	James Tuck
Brian Allan Floyd	Daryoosh Vashaee
Paul D. Franzon	John Victor Veliadis
Edward F. Gehringer	Ioannis Viniotis
John J. Grainger	Mladen Alan Vouk
Edward Grant	Wenye Wang
Robert Wendell Heath	Jonathan Wierer
Brian L Hughes	Fen Wu
Iqbal Husain	Huiyang Zhou
Ki Wook Kim	
Frederick Anthony Kish Jr.	Associate Professors

Associate Professors

Jacob James Adams
Dror Zeev Baron
Michela Becchi
Aranya Chakrabortty
Stanley Cheung
Alexander G. Dean
Sevgi Gurbuz
Ali Gurbuz
Ismail Guvenc
Khaled Abdel Hamid Harfoush
Michael W. Kudenov
David S. Lalush
Edgar Lobaton
Zeljko Pantic
Nuria Gonzalez Prelcic
Anderson Rodrigo de Queiroz

Hamid Krim

Ning Lu

Srdjan Miodrag Lukic

Robert Michael Kolbas

Leda Lunardi

Thomas Kenan Miller III

Veena Misra

Rainer Frank Mueller

John F. Muth

H. Troy Nagle Jr.

Jagdish Narayan

Arne Nilsson

Omer Oralkan

Mehmet Cevdet Ozturk

Harilaos George Perros

Douglas Stephen Reeves

Eric Rotenberg

David Ricketts	Bongmook Lee
Nitin Sharma	David Lee Lubkeman
Cranos M. Williams	Hatice Orun Ozturk
	Tania Milkova Paskova
Assistant Professors	James Lee Reynolds
Aydin Aysu	Elena Nicolescu Veety
Amay Jairaj Bandodkar	Leonard Wilson White
Michael Daniele	Donna G Yu
Demitry Farfurnik	Wensong Yu
Caterina M. Gallippi	
Yaoyao Jia	Professors Emeritus
Yaoyao Jia Shih-Chun Lin	Professors Emeritus George F. Bland
Shih-Chun Lin	George F. Bland
Shih-Chun Lin Yuan Liu	George F. Bland John R. Hauser
Shih-Chun Lin Yuan Liu Jianqing Liu	George F. Bland John R. Hauser Wilbur Carroll Peterson
Shih-Chun Lin Yuan Liu Jianqing Liu Spyridon Pavlidis	George F. Bland John R. Hauser Wilbur Carroll Peterson Winser E. Alexander PhD
Shih-Chun Lin Yuan Liu Jianqing Liu Spyridon Pavlidis Bradley Galloway Reaves	George F. Bland John R. Hauser Wilbur Carroll Peterson Winser E. Alexander PhD Tildon H Glisson Jr
Shih-Chun Lin Yuan Liu Jianqing Liu Spyridon Pavlidis Bradley Galloway Reaves Muhammad Shahzad	George F. Bland John R. Hauser Wilbur Carroll Peterson Winser E. Alexander PhD Tildon H Glisson Jr Michael A. Littlejohn
Shih-Chun Lin Yuan Liu Jianqing Liu Spyridon Pavlidis Bradley Galloway Reaves Muhammad Shahzad Wenyuan Tang	George F. Bland John R. Hauser Wilbur Carroll Peterson Winser E. Alexander PhD Tildon H Glisson Jr Michael A. Littlejohn Carlton M. Osburn

Practice/Research/Teaching Professors

Jordan Besnoff

Gregory Edward Bottomley

Laura J Bottomley

James Paul Dieffenderfer

Robert Joseph Evans

John Gajda

Rachana Ashok Gupta

Seth E. Hollar

Douglas C. Hopkins

Andrew J. Rindos III

Steven D. Jackson

Robert Dwight Oden Jr.

Adjunct Faculty

Mihail Devetsikiotis

Yan Solihin

Teaching Associate Professors

Mihail Cutitaru

Frederick J. Livingston