Electrical Engineering (MS): Internship Concentration

Degree Requirements

This concentration will require an Internship of at least four months duration (maximum of seven months) and the student to take 3 credit hours of ECE 650 and obtain a Satisfactory grade. An internship of at least four calendar months duration would require that it span at least one semester and possibly part of summer. The credits for ECE 650 would be taken during the semester that includes the internship. The student would be considered as being enrolled full time during that semester.

A student would not enroll in this concentration in their first semester. They would switch to it in a later semester if they secure a suitable internship. Per normal CPT rules, International students studying on an F-1 visa would have to be present on a US campus for two full semesters (a full academic year), and present at NC State for one semester, before using CPT privileges to take an internship. If a student switches to this concentration but does not start the internship, they will switch back to the original plan.

This will be a concentration only for on-campus students. Students enrolled in our distance education – Engineering Online (EOL) - option will not be eligible.

Code	Title H	ours
Required Courses 1		
ECE 600	ECE Graduate Orientation	
Core Courses 1		21
"Core Courses" are approved in conjunction with the academic committee		
Depth Courses	Select at least three credit hours of 700-level courses	
Major Courses	Select at least 15 credit hours of EE courses	
Breadth Course	Select at least three credit hours in different ECE specialites	
Concentration Requirement		3
ECE 650	Internship	
Additional Courses		6
"Additional Courses" are approved in conjunction with the academic committee to meet 31 total hours		

Students are only allowed three credit hours of ECE 633, ECE 634, ECE 650, ECE 695 (for Thesis students).

Total Hours

² ECE 650 requires that a written report be submitted and accepted by an ECE faculty examiner as meeting the standards required by the course. The written report should cover both technical and non-technical aspects of what the student did and learned during the internship. The report should not disclose company proprietary information.

Faculty Full Professors

Harald Ade

David E Aspnes

B. Jayant Baliga

Mesut E. Baran

Salah M. A. Bedair

Subhashish Bhattacharya

Donald L. Bitzer

Alper Yusuf Bozkurt

Gregory T Byrd

Rada Yuryevna Chirkova

Mo-Yuen Chow

Huaiyu Dai

William Rhett Davis

Alexandra Duel-Hallen

Michael James Escuti

Do Young Eun

Brian Allan Floyd

Paul D. Franzon

Edward F. Gehringer

John J. Grainger

Edward Grant

Robert Wendell Heath

Brian L Hughes

Igbal Husain

Ki Wook Kim

Frederick Anthony Kish Jr.

Robert Michael Kolbas

Hamid Krim

Ning Lu

31

Srdjan Miodrag Lukic

Leda Lunardi

Thomas Kenan Miller III

Veena Misra

Rainer Frank Mueller

John F. Muth

H. Troy Nagle Jr.

Jagdish Narayan

Arne Nilsson

Omer Oralkan

Mehmet Cevdet Ozturk

Harilaos George Perros

Douglas Stephen Reeves

Eric Rotenberg

Georgios Rouskas

Xipeng Shen

Mihail Lorin Sichitiu

Zlatko Sitar

Matthias F. M. Stallmann

Daniel D. Stancil

Michael B. Steer

J. K. Townsend

James Tuck

Daryoosh Vashaee

John Victor Veliadis

Ioannis Viniotis

Mladen Alan Vouk

Wenye Wang

Jonathan Wierer

Fen Wu

Huiyang Zhou

Sevgi Gurbuz

Ali Gurbuz

Ismail Guvenc

Khaled Abdel Hamid Harfoush

Michael W. Kudenov

David S. Lalush

Edgar Lobaton

Zeljko Pantic

Nuria Gonzalez Prelcic

Anderson Rodrigo de Queiroz

David Ricketts

Nitin Sharma

Cranos M. Williams

Assistant Professors

Aydin Aysu

Amay Jairaj Bandodkar

Michael Daniele

Demitry Farfurnik

Caterina M. Gallippi

Yaoyao Jia

Shih-Chun Lin

Yuan Liu

Jianqing Liu

Spyridon Pavlidis

Bradley Galloway Reaves

Muhammad Shahzad

Wenyuan Tang

Chau-Wai Wong

Tianfu Wu

Chenhan Xu

Associate Professors

Jacob James Adams

Dror Zeev Baron

Michela Becchi

Aranya Chakrabortty

Stanley Cheung

Alexander G. Dean

Practice/Research/Teaching Professors

Jordan Besnoff

Gregory Edward Bottomley

Laura J Bottomley

James Paul Dieffenderfer

Robert Joseph Evans

John Gajda

Rachana Ashok Gupta

Seth E. Hollar

Douglas C. Hopkins

Andrew J. Rindos III

Steven D. Jackson

Robert Dwight Oden Jr.

Bongmook Lee

David Lee Lubkeman

Hatice Orun Ozturk

Tania Milkova Paskova

James Lee Reynolds

Elena Nicolescu Veety

Leonard Wilson White

Donna G Yu

Wensong Yu

Professors Emeritus

George F. Bland

John R. Hauser

Wilbur Carroll Peterson

Winser E. Alexander PhD

Tildon H Glisson Jr

Michael A. Littlejohn

Carlton M. Osburn

Sarah Ann Rajala

Wesley E. Snyder

Adjunct Faculty

Mihail Devetsikiotis

Yan Solihin

Teaching Associate Professors

Mihail Cutitaru

Frederick J. Livingston