# Mechanical Engineering (MS)

## Degree Requirements Non-Thesis Option

Title

Oouc	THE	Hours		
Required Cours	es <sup>*</sup>	27		
	Select a minimum of 18 credits (6 courses) of 500-level to 700-level MAE courses			
Select a maximum of 9 credits (3 courses) of non-MAE or MAE technical elective courses approved by the Director of Graduate Programs				
Project Course				
MAE 586	Project Work In Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering			
Total Hours				

#### **Thesis Option**

Code

C	oae	litie	Hours
R	Required Cou	irses *	21
	Select a mir level MAE c	nimum of 12 credits (4 courses) of 500-level to 700- courses	-
		eximum of 9 credits (3 courses) of non-MAE or MAE ective courses approved by the Director of Graduat	
Research Course			9
	MAE 695	Master's Thesis Research	
Total Hours			30

<sup>\* &</sup>quot;Required Courses" may include up to three non-MAE courses approved by the Director of Graduate Programs.

### Accelerated Bachelor's/Master's Degree Requirements

The Accelerated Bachelors/Master's (ABM) degree program allows exceptional undergraduate students at NC State an opportunity to complete the requirements for both the Bachelor's and Master's degrees at an accelerated pace. These undergraduate students may double count up to 12 credits and obtain a non-thesis Master's degree in the same field within 12 months of completing the Bachelor's degree, or obtain a thesis-based Master's degree in the same field within 18 months of completing the Bachelor's degree.

This degree program also provides an opportunity for the Directors of Graduate Programs (DGPs) at NC State to recruit rising juniors in their major to their graduate programs. However, permission to pursue an ABM degree program does not guarantee admission to the Graduate School. Admission is contingent on meeting eligibility requirements at the time of entering the graduate program.

### Faculty Full Professors

Gregory D. Buckner

Tarek Echekki

Farhan Saifuddin Gandhi

Tasnim Hassan

He Huang

Hours

Jack Ray Edwards Jr

Srinath Ekkad

Tiegang Fang

Ashok Gopalarathnam

Richard David Gould

Xiaoning Jiang

Richard F. Keltie

Clement Kleinstreuer

Andrey Valerevich Kuznetsov

Hong Luo

Kevin M. Lyons

Gracious Ngaile

Kara Jo Peters

Afsaneh Rabiei

Lawrence M. Silverberg

Juei Feng Tu

Fen Wu

Fuh-Gwo Yuan

Yong Zhu

Mohammed A. Zikry

#### **Associate Professors**

Matthew Bryant

Jeffrey W. Eischen

Scott M. Ferguson

Charles Edward Hall Jr.

Hsiao-Ying Shadow Huang

Andre P. Mazzoleni

Venkat Narayanaswamy

Brendan O'Connor

Katherine Saul

Alexei V. Saveliev

Nitin Sharma

Rohan A. Shirwalker

Hooman Vahedi Tafreshi

Christopher R. Vermillion

Cheryl Xu

#### **Assistant Professors**

James Braun

**Darius Carter** 

Mingtai Chen

Chuyi Chen

Curtis Congreve

Landon Grace

Kenneth Granlund

Veeraraghava Raju Hasti

Mohammad Heiranian

Timothy Joseph Horn

Arun Kumar Kota

Donggun Lee

Jun Liu

Seyed Mehran Mirramezani

Marie Muller

Mark R. Pankow

Jason F. Patrick

Jong Eun Ryu

Pramod K. V. Subbareddy

Jie Yin

### **Practice/Research/Teaching Professor**

Stephen D. Terry

#### Lecturers

Steven Berg

William Gregory Eades

#### **Emeritus Faculty**

John A. Bailey

Herbert Martin Eckerlin

Francis J. Hale

Franklin D. Hart

Hassan A. Hassan

Thomas H. Hodgson

Richard R. Johnson

David S. McRae

James C. Mulligan

Robert T. Nagel

Larry H. Royster

Ronald O. Scattergood

Furman Y. Sorrell Jr.

John S. Strenkowski

Carl F. Zorowski