Foundations of Data Science

NC State's Master's degree in Foundations of Data Science (MSFDS) will help meet the demand for a new breed of data science professionals. MSFDS is a new terminal professional degree program based on course work and integrated professional development activities. The program will equip its graduates with both depth and breadth, balanced across three core disciplines lying at the heart of data science. No research, thesis or comprehensive examination is required. MSFDS students are normally self-supported. Domestic students, including foreign nationals with active visa status, can enroll on a full-time or part-time basis, and have available online options. International students must enroll on a full-time basis.

More Information

Program Website (https://grad.ncsu.edu/programs/foundations-of-datascience/)

Distance Website (https://online-distance.ncsu.edu/program/foundationsof-data-science/)

Applicant Information

- Delivery Method: On-Campus, Online, Hybrid
- Entrance Exam: None
- Interview Required: None

Application Deadlines

Please see the program website (https://grad.ncsu.edu/programs/ foundations-of-data-science/) for information on fall and spring application deadlines.

Degrees

- Foundations of Data Science (MS) (http://catalog.ncsu.edu/graduate/ interdisciplinary/foundationsofdatascience/foundations-of-datascience-ms/)
- Foundations of Data Science (MS): Computer Science Concentration (http://catalog.ncsu.edu/graduate/interdisciplinary/ foundationsofdatascience/computer-science-concentration/)
- Foundations of Data Science (MS): Mathematics Concentration (http://catalog.ncsu.edu/graduate/interdisciplinary/ foundationsofdatascience/mathematics-concentration/)
- Foundations of Data Science (MS): Statistics Concentration (http:// catalog.ncsu.edu/graduate/interdisciplinary/foundationsofdatascience/ statistics-concentration/)

Faculty Professors

Bojko Bakalov

Min Chi

Rada Chirkova

Patrick Combettes

Pierre Gremaud

Mansoor Haider
Steffen Heber
llse Ipsen
Souman Lahiri
Edgar Lobaton
Wenbin Lu
Arnab Maity
Kemafor Ogan
Brian Reich
Nagiza Samatova
Munindar Singh
Ralph Smith
Ana-Maria Staicu
Ranga Raiu Vatsavai

Associate Professors

Alen Alexanderian Collin Lynch Donald Martin Noboru Matsuda David Papp Thomas Price Sharath Raghvendra David Roberts Arvind Saibaba Erin Schliep Sharma Thankachan

Assistant Professors

Chao Chen

Jonathan Williams

Teaching Professors

Herle McGowan

Justin Post

Associate Teaching Professors

Bevin Maultsby