1

Marine, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences (MS)

Degree Requirements

Graduate programs are offered in Atmospheric Science, Earth Science, and Marine Science. Specific course requirements are determined by the advisory committee of each student.

Students can choose focus area tracks from the following:

- Atmospheric Science Track (p. 1)
- Earth Science Track (p. 1)
- Marine Science Track (p. 1)

Degrees earned will be distributed as: "Master of Science in Marine, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences" without track specifications.

Atmospheric Science Track

Code	Title	Hours	
Seminar Course			
MEA 601	Seminar		
Area of Focus Courses ¹			
Courses in the "Area of Focus" are determined in conjunction with the academic committee			
Total Hours			

¹ MEA 601 Seminar is required of all thesis M.S. students no later than the third semester in residence.

Earth Science Track

(Code	Title	Hours	
Seminar Course ¹			1	
	MEA 601	Seminar		
Area of Focus Courses				
Courses in the "Area of Focus" are determined in conjunction with the academic committee				
Total Hours			30	

Marine Science Track

Within marine sciences the subdisciplines include:

- · Biological Oceanography
- Chemical Oceanography
- · Geological Oceanography
- Physical Oceanography

Code	Title	Hours
Core Courses		12
MEA 540	Principles of Physical Oceanography	
MEA 549	Principles of Biological Oceanography	
MEA 570	Geological Oceanography	

MEA 573	Principles of Chemical Oceanography	
Seminar Cours		1
MEA 601	Seminar	
Area of Focus		11
Courses in the the the the the academic content of the second sec	"Area of Focus" are determined in conjunction with ommittee	
Courses Outsi	de Area of Focus	6
"Courses Outsie the academic c	de Area of Focus" are determined in conjunction with ommittee	
Total Hours		30
Faculty		
Viney Pal Aneja		
DelWayne R. B	ohnenstiehl	
Curtis Raymond	Congreve	
Adam Curry		
Nicholas Dygert	:	
David B. Eggles	ston	
David Paul Gen	ereux	
Timothy Glotfelt	у	
Peter Jeurgen H	larries	
Ruoying He		
David Kimmel		

Gary M. Lackmann

Elana L. Leithold

Jay Frederick Levine

Jing-pu Liu

David A. McConnell

Kay McMonigal

Nicholas Meskhidze

Helena Mitasova

James Morley

David Nolan

Lewis Andrew Owen

Matthew David Parker

John Peters

Markus Dirk Jan Petters

Zhen Qu

Walter A. Robinson

Robert Ross	Sethu Raman
William J. Showers	Allen J. Riordan
Lian Xie	Dale A Russell
Sandra E. Yuter	Ping-Tung Shaw
Anantha Aiyyer	Edward F. Stoddard
Paul Kevin Byrne	Donna Lee Wolcott
Christopher Lee Osburn	Thomas G. Wolcott
Astrid Schnetzer	William Howard Battye
Karl William Wegmann	Geoffrey Weszely Bell
Carli Arendt	Scott Anthony Braun
Stuart Bishop	Michael Brennan
Magdalena Alyssa Ellis Curry	Subrahmanyam Bulusu
Catherine Van Wie Davis	Brian A. Colle
Lily Hughes	Jeffrey Cunningham
Ethan Gordon Hyland	Johannes Michael Leopold Dahl
Sarah Larson	Kathie Dello
Ryan William Paerl	David R. Easterling
Andres Camilo Rey Sanchez	Scott Howard Ensign
Arianna Soldati	Troy Gilmore
Otis B. Brown	Peter Hamilton
Curtis Congreve	Russel S. Harmon
Brian K. Eder	Barron Halton Henderson
Elisabeth Streit Falk	Nam-Young Kang
Kenneth E. Kunkel	David E. Kingsmill
Roberto Javier Mera	Branko Kosovic
Carrie J. Thomas	Emlyn Howard Koster
Joseph Brendan Zambon	Benjamin Kravitz
Fredrick Semazzi	Nicole Deneault LaDue
Charles Ernest Knowles	Romuald Lipcius
Satya Pal Singh Arya	Huiqing Liu
Jerry M. Davis	David Mechem
David John DeMaster	Siddhartha Mitra
John Crothers Fountain	Maria Janeth Molina
James Patrick Hibbard	Andrew Newell
Thomas Sawyer Hopkins	Lester Perry
Leonard J. Pietrafesa	Sharon Phillips

- Brandon Puckett
- S. Trivikrama Rao
- Joseph Rudek
- Blake Schaeffer
- Jenni Stanley
- Robert Christopher Tacker
- Susan White
- Shaocai Yu
- Yang Zhang
- Yin San Zhang
- Xiangdong Zhang