1

72

Marine, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences (PhD)

Degree Requirements

Graduate programs are offered in Atmospheric Science, Earth Science, and Marine Science. Specific course requirements are determined by the advisory committee of each student.

Degrees earned will be distributed as: "Doctor of Philosophy in Marine, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences" without track specifications.

Marine Science Track

Within marine sciences the subdisciplines include:

- Biological Oceanography
- Chemical Oceanography
- Geological Oceanography
- Physical Oceanography

Code	Title	Hours		
Core Courses ¹		12		
MEA 540	Principles of Physical Oceanography			
MEA 549	Principles of Biological Oceanography			
MEA 570	Geological Oceanography			
MEA 573	Principles of Chemical Oceanography			
Seminar Course ²				
MEA 801	Seminar			
Area of Focus Courses				
Courses in the "Area of Focus" are determined in conjunction with the academic committee				
Courses Outside Area of Focus				
Courses Outside Area of Focus "Courses Outside Area of Focus" are determined in conjunction with the academic committee				
Total Hours				
Earth Science Track				

Code	Title	Hours		
Seminar Course ²				
MEA 801	Seminar			
Area of Focus Courses				
Courses in the "Area of Focus" are determined in conjunction with the academic committee				
Total Hours		72		

Atmospheric Science Track

Code	Title	Hours
Seminar Cours	e ²	1
MEA 801	Seminar	
Area of Focus Courses ¹		

Courses in the "Area of Focus" are determined in conjunction with the academic committee

Total Hours	
-------------	--

- ¹ Marine science students are required to take core courses in all three subdisciplines other than their own; this requirement may be fulfilled at the M.S. level.
- ² MEA 801 is required of all Ph.D. students no later than the fourth semester in residence.

Faculty

Viney Pal Aneja

DelWayne R. Bohnenstiehl

Curtis Raymond Congreve

Adam Curry

Nicholas Dygert

David B. Eggleston

David Paul Genereux

Timothy Glotfelty

Peter Jeurgen Harries

Ruoying He

David Kimmel

Gary M. Lackmann

Elana L. Leithold

Jay Frederick Levine

Jing-pu Liu

David A. McConnell

Kay McMonigal

Nicholas Meskhidze

Helena Mitasova

James Morley

David Nolan

Lewis Andrew Owen

Matthew David Parker

John Peters

Markus Dirk Jan Petters

Zhen Qu

Walter A. Robinson

Robert Ross

William J. Showers	Allen J. Riordan
Lian Xie	Dale A Russell
Sandra E. Yuter	Ping-Tung Shaw
Anantha Aiyyer	Edward F. Stoddard
Paul Kevin Byrne	Donna Lee Wolcott
Christopher Lee Osburn	Thomas G. Wolcott
Astrid Schnetzer	William Howard Battye
Karl William Wegmann	Geoffrey Weszely Bell
Carli Arendt	Scott Anthony Braun
Stuart Bishop	Michael Brennan
Magdalena Alyssa Ellis Curry	Subrahmanyam Bulusu
Catherine Van Wie Davis	Brian A. Colle
Lily Hughes	Jeffrey Cunningham
Ethan Gordon Hyland	Johannes Michael Leopold Dahl
Sarah Larson	Kathie Dello
Ryan William Paerl	David R. Easterling
Andres Camilo Rey Sanchez	Scott Howard Ensign
Arianna Soldati	Troy Gilmore
Otis B. Brown	Peter Hamilton
Curtis Congreve	Russel S. Harmon
Brian K. Eder	Barron Halton Henderson
Elisabeth Streit Falk	Nam-Young Kang
Kenneth E. Kunkel	David E. Kingsmill
Roberto Javier Mera	Branko Kosovic
Carrie J. Thomas	Emlyn Howard Koster
Joseph Brendan Zambon	Benjamin Kravitz
Fredrick Semazzi	Nicole Deneault LaDue
Charles Ernest Knowles	Romuald Lipcius
Satya Pal Singh Arya	Huiqing Liu
Jerry M. Davis	David Mechem
David John DeMaster	Siddhartha Mitra
John Crothers Fountain	Maria Janeth Molina
James Patrick Hibbard	Andrew Newell
Thomas Sawyer Hopkins	Lester Perry
Leonard J. Pietrafesa	Sharon Phillips
Sethu Raman	Brandon Puckett

- S. Trivikrama Rao
- Joseph Rudek
- Blake Schaeffer
- Jenni Stanley
- Robert Christopher Tacker
- Susan White
- Shaocai Yu
- Yang Zhang
- Yin San Zhang
- Xiangdong Zhang