Physics (MS)

Master of Science Degree Requirements Thesis (Option A) Requirements

Code	Title	Hours
Letter-Graded Courses		
Select six PY 500-level / 700-level courses approved in conjunction with the academic committee ¹		
Research Course		6
PY 695	Master's Thesis Research (Optional)	
Total Hours		30

Non-Thesis (Option B) Requirements

Code	Title	Hours
Letter-Graded Courses		
Select six PY 50 with the academ	0-level / 700-level courses approved in conjunctic ic committee ^{1,2}	on
Department Qua	alifying Exam	12
Students must pass a Department Qualifying Exam from the		
following courses	S:	
PY 721	Statistical Physics I	
PY 782	Quantum Mechanics II	
PY 783	Advanced Classical Mechanics I	
PY 785	Advanced Electricity and Magnetism I	
Total Hours		30

Accelerated Bachelor's/Master's Degree Requirements

The Accelerated Bachelors/Master's (ABM) degree program allows exceptional undergraduate students at NC State an opportunity to complete the requirements for both the Bachelor's and Master's degrees at an accelerated pace. These undergraduate students may double count up to 12 credits and obtain a non-thesis Master's degree in the same field within 12 months of completing the Bachelor's degree, or obtain a thesis-based Master's degree in the same field within 18 months of completing the Bachelor's degree.

This degree program also provides an opportunity for the Directors of Graduate Programs (DGPs) at NC State to recruit rising juniors in their major to their graduate programs. However, permission to pursue an ABM degree program does not guarantee admission to the Graduate School. Admission is contingent on meeting eligibility requirements at the time of entering the graduate program.

Faculty

Harald Ade

David E. Aspnes

Robert J. Beichner

Jerzy Bernholc

John Michael Blondin

John D. Brown

Laura I. Clarke

Karen E. Daniels

William L. Ditto

Daniel B. Dougherty

Carla Frohlich

Robert Golub

Kenan Gundogdu

Hans D. Hallen

Paul R. Huffman

Chueng Ryong Ji

James P. Kneller

Gail C. McLaughlin

Lubos Mitas

Robert Riehn

Christopher M. Roland

Maria C. Sagui

Thomas M. Schaefer

John E. Thomas

Mithat Unsal

Keith R. Weninger

Albert R. Young

Matthew Piron Green

Alexander Kemper

Divine Philip Kumah

Shuang Fang Lim

Richard Leigh Longland

Hong Wang

Julio Monti Belmonte

Excludes: PY 501 Quantum Physics I, PY 511 Mechanics I, and PY 514 Electromagnetism I.

Students may opt to select a minor, by which three graded courses from other departments will be accepted as determined in conjunction with the academic committee.

Rongmon Bordoloi

2

Mary Williard Elting

Sebastian Konig

Sharonda Leblanc

Katherine Jean Mack

Vladimir Skokov

Dali Sun

Jason Russell Bochinski

Kazimierz Borkowski

Abay Dinku

Daniel Jacob Doucette

Brand Irving Fortner

Keith Heyward

Parminder Kaur

John H. Kelley

Hayen Leendert

Kent Leung

Wenchang Lu

Vijaya Mehta

Zodiac T. Webster

Ruth W. Chabay

Kwong T. Chung

James W. Cook Jr.

Stephen R. Cotanch

William Robert Davis

Donald C. Ellison

Raymond Earl Fornes

Christopher Robert Gould

David G. Haase

Karen L. Johnston

Fred Lado Jr.

Jacqueline Krim

George W. Parker III

Richard R. Patty

Stephen Reynolds

Phillip J. Stiles

Associate Professor

Ian Roederer

Assistant Professors

Weijian Chen

Raja Ghosh

Xingcheng Lin

Ruijuan Xu

Teaching Professor

Aaron Titus

Teaching Assistant Professors

Maya Kinley-Hanlon

Kasey Wagoner

Lecturer

Federico Portillo Chaves