Textile Chemistry

The Master of Science in Textile Chemistry program emphasizes the fundamental principles of polymer science, dyeing and finishing technology, color science, dye chemistry, fiber formation, analytical chemistry and forensics. While learning these principles, these master's students also develop their research, technical and analytical skills.

Alumni who head into industry after graduation find work in a wide variety of fields ranging from the chemical, environmental science, medical and forensic science industries to the retail, textile and apparel industries.

Focus areas of this program include:

- · Dyeing and finishing chemistry.
- · Forensic and analytical chemistry.
- · Polymer science.
- · Sustainability.
- · Smart fibers and e-textiles.
- · Nonwovens.
- · Product development.

This program is available in both thesis and non-thesis options. The non-thesis option can be completed entirely online (https://online-distance.ncsu.edu/program/master-of-science-in-textile-chemistry/).

More Information

Textile Chemistry Program Website (https://textiles.ncsu.edu/academics/graduate-programs/textile-chemistry/)

Applicant Information

• Delivery Method: On-Campus, Online, Hybrid

Entrance Exam: NoneInterview Required: None

Application Deadlines

• Fall: March 1 (International); June 25 (U.S.)

• Spring: July 15 (International): November 25 (U.S.)

Degrees

- Textile Chemistry (MS) (http://catalog.ncsu.edu/graduate/textiles/ textile-chemistry/textile-chemistry-ms/)
- Textile Chemistry (Minor) (http://catalog.ncsu.edu/graduate/textiles/ textile-chemistry/textile-chemistry-minor/)

Faculty

Full Professor

Roger Barker

Philip Bradford

Laura Clarke

Emiel DenHartog

Ahmed El-Shafei

Raoul Farer

David Hinks

Warren Jasper

Jeff Joines

Martin King

Jerome Lavelle

Karen Leonas

Melissa Pasquinelli

Behnam Pourdeyhimi

Renzo Shamey

Richard Spontak

Nelson Vinueza

Xiangwu Zhang

Associate Professors

Ericka Ford

Wei Gao

Wendy Krause

Bryan Ormond

Sonja Salmon

Eunkyoung Shim

Assistant Professors

Januka Budhathoki-Uprety

Xiaomeng Fang

Jessica Gluck

Amanda Mills

Md Abdul Quddus

Tom Schroeder

Tova Williams

Rong Yin

Yang Zhang

Mengmeng Zhu

Research Faculty

Genevieve Garland

Dieter Griffis

Benoit Maze

Jialong Shen

Adjunct Faculty

Gerardo Montero

Riikka Raeisaenen

Gisela de Aragao Umbuzeiro

Julie Willoughby