Department of Physics

Physics provides the conceptual foundation for all other sciences and engineering. Energy, mass, momentum, forces, fields — these ideas form the basis of physical reality. The physicist is trained to see to the heart of a problem and to strip through layers of complexity to reveal the underlying principles with insight and rigor. These skills are important in scientific research and in a variety of careers, from the law office to the boardroom.

Undergraduates in our department receive a high-quality education that equips them with these key skills and prepares them for bright futures. Our expert faculty (p. 1) includes fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and winners of prestigious research awards from organizations like the National Science Foundation and the U.S. Department of Energy. Our ratio of four physics majors to each faculty member allows us to offer small classes taught by faculty, with personal attention and unparalleled opportunities for involvement in research (https://physics.sciences.ncsu.edu/research/).

During their academic careers, many of our students win national research awards, publish in prestigious journals and hold campus leadership positions before finding successful employment or pursuing graduate study.

Department Highlights:

- The Department of Physics recognizes the achievement of our undergraduate students through three awards to outstanding seniors, presented at the annual McCormick Symposium:
 - · Rodney I. McCormick Award for outstanding research
 - · Wesley O. Doggett Award for outstanding scholarship
 - Richard R. Patty Award for outstanding leadership
- Many Physics students are involved in student organizations such as the Society of Physics Students, the Astronomy Club, the Artificial Intelligence Club, and the Women in Physics group.
- The Physics Department honors program recognizes talented students who go beyond the basic curriculum by participating in independent research projects and advanced physics courses.
- Most physics majors at NC State become involved in meaningful, cutting edge research by their sophomore or junior years.

For more information about our department, including contact information, visit our website (https://physics.sciences.ncsu.edu/).

Department of Physics

NC State University Campus Box 8202 Raleigh, NC 27695-8202

Dr. Paul Huffman

Professor and Department Head NC State University Riddick Hall 421, Box 8202 Raleigh, NC 27695-8202 Phone: 919.515.2521 physicsdepartment@ncsu.edu

Faculty

Department Head

Paul Huffman, Department Head and Professor

Associate Department Head

Keith Weninger, Associate Department Head, Professor and University Faculty Scholar

Assistant Department Head

Jason Bochinski, Assistant Department Head and Assistant Research Professor

Professors

Harald Ade, Goodnight Innovation Distinguished Professor

Jerry Bernholc, Drexel Professor

John M. Blondin, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor

David Brown

Laura Clarke, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor

Karen Daniels, Distinguished Professor

William Ditto

Daniel Dougherty, Professor and Director of Undergraduate Programs

Carla Fröhlich, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor and University Faculty Scholar

Robert Golub

Kenan Gundogdu

Hans Hallen

Chueng Ji

James Kneller

Gail McLaughlin, Distinguished University Professor

Lubos Mitas, Distinguished University Professor

Robert Riehn

Christopher Roland

Celeste Sagui

Thomas Schäfer, Wesley O. Doggett Distinguished Professor

John Thomas, John S. Risley Distinguished Professor

Mithat Ünsal

Hong Wang

Albert Young

Associate Professors

Rongmon Bordoloi

Mary Elting

Paschalis Gkoupidenis

Matthew Green

Qing Gu

Alexander Kemper, Associate Dean for Research and Associate Professor

Shuang Fang Lim

Richard Longland

Ian Roederer

Vladimir Skokov

Dali Sun

Assistant Professors

Weijian Chen

Raja Ghosh

Sebastian König

Sharonda LeBlanc

Xingcheng Lin

Julio Monti Belmonte

Research Professor

Wenchang Lu

Associate Research Professor

John Kelley

Teaching Professors

Brand Fortner

Keith Heyward

Aaron Titus

Teaching Assistant Professors

Maya Kinley-Hanlon

Vijaya Mehta

Kasey Wagoner

Lecturers

Federico Portillo Chaves

Zachary Lewis

Director

Keith Warren, Director of Facilities and Operations

Plans

- Physics (BA) (http://catalog.ncsu.edu/undergraduate/sciences/ physics/physics-ba/)
- Physics (BS) (http://catalog.ncsu.edu/undergraduate/sciences/ physics/physics-bs/)
- Physics (BS): Interdisciplinary Physics Concentration (http://catalog.ncsu.edu/undergraduate/sciences/physics/physics-bs-interdisciplinary/)
- Physics (Minor) (http://catalog.ncsu.edu/undergraduate/sciences/ physics/physics-minor/)